Good Things Come To Those Who Wait… Accessible eBook Conversion on Windows!

In this post I would like to discuss a new application I recently heard about. The said application is called Codex, and its purpose is to remove DRM and convert eBooks from one format to another.
You may recall, I published a post concerning converting Kindle eBooks a few months ago, but the method I outlined is only accessible on Macintosh. The great thing about Codex is that it works on Windows, and even better, the program is completely accessible.
If you would like to learn about Codex, its developer, functionality and how to use it, you are invited to read on. After reading, you may consider liking, sharing and/or commenting on this post.

What is Codex?

Codex is a completely free, very easy to use and efficient eBook converter. The said program can convert eBooks from a range of popular sources including Amazon and Barnes & Noble among others.
As I mentioned in my earlier post concerning eBook conversion, Digital Rights Management (DRM) can restrict the programs which eBooks and other media files can be opened in. This can be particularly difficult for individuals using assistive technology.
In the case of eBooks with DRM Protection, Codex removes the mentioned DRM seamlessly and converts the eBook to the desired format with no user input required. In addition, eBooks without DRM Protection can also be converted in the same fashion.

Who has created Codex?

The developer of Codex is called James Scholes, and according to his Twitter profile, he is a 23-year-old ukulele player, drummer, amateur programmer, avid reader, radio drama and classic comedy fan from Bradford in the United Kingdom. Personally, I would suggest removing the word amateur if Codex is an indication of James’s programming skills.
As mentioned above, Codex is free, and I would strongly urge you to donate via PayPal on James’s website to support future development of the said program. The developer is very accessible in terms of communication, you can either send an e-mail to james@jamesscholes.com or Tweet James at @JamesScholes.

What can Codex do?

The primary functions of Codex involve removing DRM from eBooks, and converting the said eBooks to a particular format. The mentioned functions can be broken down into a list of features, and James has done this on the Codex download page, but I have reproduced and condensed the said list below.

  1. Remove DRM Protection from legally purchased eBooks.
  2. Convert eBooks from one format to up to 8 alternative formats.
  3. Begin conversion from the context menu due to integration with Windows Explorer.
  4. The ability to convert multiple eBooks at once.
  5. Arrange eBooks according to book title and author name.
  6. Open and read eBooks straight from Codex.

How can I use Codex?

Even though some of my earlier post could be used to install some elements required for Codex, James has published a very comprehensive and easy to follow blog post which I would recommend you read and follow to the letter for best results. If you have any difficulty with the installation or setup, James will be more than happy for you to get in touch with him via the contact details presented above.

The Bottom Line.

I have used Codex to convert several eBooks I have purchased, and I have found it to be a very straight forward process. As I have used, and will continue to use Codex, I have donated via PayPal to support James and future development efforts.
I think Codex is a fantastic Windows alternative to the Mac process outlined in my earlier post, and the fact that the developer is so responsive is a huge plus. I really look forward to seeing Codex evolve as it is developed in the future, and I think it will be immensely popular among the visually impaired and blind community.

I hope you have enjoyed this post, and I would encourage you to like, share and/or comment. If you would like to get in touch with me, you can fill in and submit the contact form, or contact me on Twitter by tweeting @NiallJG91.

Leave a Reply

