What do you get when you add Comic Books, LinkedIn Accessibility and AppleVis?

This is a rather short post to inform you of a few pieces of news, which I think you may be interested in. The said news topics range from accessible comic books to iOS file transfer, along with a good mix of assistive technology information thrown in for good measure.
If you would like to find out more, please feel free to read on.

Accessible Comic Books:

After publishing my most recent post I was contacted by Tina Franziska Paulick, who told me about a very interesting website which offers accessible comic books to the blind and visually impaired community. The website is called Comics Empower, and it is run by a gentleman by the name of Guy Hasson.
Cool Blind Tech, another excellent resource for everything relating to assistive technology, just posted an audio interview with Guy, and I would really encourage you to listen to it. If you are not familiar with comic books and there format, an audio introduction has been designed to introduce you to comic books, and the said audio can be accessed on Comics Empowers’ homepage.
I think this is a fantastic service, and I will be purchasing the first edition of my first ever comic book as soon as this post is published.

Introduction to Screen Readers:

I found an article on Twitter this morning that gives a very brief introduction to screen readers for the blind and visually impaired, which you can read at this link. While this may be a useful article for someone who is blind or visually impaired, I think it would be a fantastic introduction for sighted individuals who have no idea of what a screen reader is and/or what it can do.
For example, the linked article could be great for giving a lecturer/teacher a glimpse into the world of screen reading technology, and make them aware that there is more than one way to ascertain information from a computer; assuming they were not already aware of this fact of course.
Aside from the mentioned article, which is great, I think that the Make tech Easier site is interesting, and it’s definitely worth a visit.

Assistive Technology Tidbits:

Top Technology Tidbits is a newsletter which is published electronically every Thursday, and it always has some brilliant information concerning assistive technology. The newsletter discusses items which range from developments in screen readers, to blog posts on assistive technology products.
You can visit the archive of Top Technology Tidbits here, and you can subscribe to the newsletter on this page.

LinkedIn is Accessible:

You may remember, I posted about searching for a job a few weeks ago. Well, I just read an article yesterday via the Access World iOS app about LinkedIn, and I thought it would be worthwhile sharing it with you.
You can read the article in question at this link, and if you are unfamiliar with LinkedIn, the article will introduce you to the site, and its accessibility is also considered with several different screen readers in mind. Personally, I have found LinkedIn to be relatively easy to use on iOS, and I do find it a very interesting and useful social network.

iOS File Transfer:

You may recall, I mentioned I was part of the new Blogging Team over at AppleVis.com, and I would be submitting a blog post each month. Well, in a slight change, I posted a guide concerning Wi-Fi File Transfer between iOS and Mac/Windows this month.
It is a pretty specific topic, but I thought there may be some people who might be interested. I have nothing planned yet, but I will return to submitting a standard post to AppleVis next month.

That’s All Folks!

As I said at the beginning, this is a short post, but I do hope you have found some of the above material interesting.
If you have any comments or query’s, please contact me as I would be more than happy to hear from you.

2 comments on “What do you get when you add Comic Books, LinkedIn Accessibility and AppleVis?

Leave a Reply

